1975 Suriname gained its independence from The Netherlands

1975 Suriname gained its independence

officially Republic of Suriname , Dutch Republiek Suriname country located on the northern coast of South America. Suriname is bordered on the north by the Atlantic Ocean, on the east by French Guiana, on the south by Brazil, and on the west by Guyana.

It claims two disputed territories totaling some 6,800 square miles (17,612 square kilometres) in the southwest and southeast, bordering on Guyana and French Guiana, respectively. The capital is Paramaribo.

Suriname is one of the smallest countries in South America. Formerly known as Dutch Guiana, it was a plantation colony of The Netherlands. Suriname gained its independence on Nov. 25, 1975.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.